Thursday, January 25, 2018

Eclipse Winners to be Announced

The winners  of thoroughbred racing's Eclipse Awards for 2017 will be  annonced on Thursday night at a dinner at Gulfstream Park.

Awards will be presented in seventeen categories--mostly for  horses and also for trainers, jockeys, owners and breeders.

Voting was done early this  month by racing 
officials and racing writers and broadcosters.

The three finalists in four of the major  categories are:
Horse of the Year--Arrogate, Gun Runner and World Approval/

Three-Year-Old Male--Always Dreaming, Battle of Midway, West  Coast

Joey -- Javier Csstellano, Jose Ortiz, Mike Smith

Trainer -- Steve Asmussen, Bob Baffert, Chad Brown

We will have news about the winners overnight.

Several years a friend offered to nominate me as an Eclipse voter.  I  declined, prtly brecause I felt there were already enough voters from the media. 

This year, here's how I would habe voted in thecategories listed  above

Horse of The Year -- Gun Runner
Three=Year-Old  Male == West Coast
Jocckey-- Ortiz
Trainer -Brown
-- Jim Freer

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please post your comment to our blog. It will be moderated and approved in a timely manner, then posted. Thanks for reading !

HorseRacing FLA staff